Gently does it

 Technology is a way of organizing the universe so that man doesn’t have to experience it.

Don’t know anything about Next Generation Television? Neither do I. So let’s take this journey together and find out what it means.

When I first heard that the topic “Next Generation Television” (next-gen tv from now on) was up for grabs, I thought it would be interesting. My specalisation in JMS 3 was tv and I thought I knew enough about the topic to sail through these blog assignments. Boy, was I mistaken! The topic of next-gen tv is incredibly diverse and multi-layered. It inevitably involves big egos and even bigger names.

So, until I get to the bottom of this pit of knowledge, name-dropping should be enough. Think Microsoft, Apple, YouTube, and its the South African cousin (twice removed) MyVideo. I’ll also be blogging about streaming video, mobile television, and why South Africa desperately needs new technologies to faciliate the digital migration. I’ll give you a hint: the SABC sucks.

Watch this space!

~ by Ines Schumacher on 10 March 2008.

One Response to “Gently does it”

  1. Hey,
    Found an article that might help give some insight into South African television industry and its latest developments.

    Here is the link: Mail and Guardian
    http://www.mg.co.za/articlePage.aspx?articleid=334329&area=/insight/insight__economy__business/

Leave a Reply

 
